Week 5: My Budget For An Episode

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 2.23.05 am.png

This week in class we focused on industry standard budgeting, and I worked on a budget of my own for the episode I’m Co-Directing, Batman. I originally planned on using multiple sources for budgeting, until I stumbled across this PDF from ScreenProducers.org.au, which detailed every possible I was looking for. I decided to round up the amounts and soon found that with just 6 weeks of pre- production for a standard crew, the prices can be expensive (or at least in my budget).

I had decided to allocate $20,000 for one week of extensive Fanfiction research, which will hopefully provide us with the best of the best, rather than a skim of the fanfiction world. What was interesting to me was seeing that budgeting for the film has levels and that all different roles fall under a number from 1-10. This can be anything from Assistant Driver to Directing.

Leave a Reply

