Interviews in the Industry.

In this weeks lecture we learnt about the different interview techniques, and tips on how to secure a job in the tough film industry. A majority of the lecture was devoted to all the different type of questions you can be asked; which can range from “What have you learnt from mistakes on the job?”- a basic interview question, or “If you were a part in a car, which part would you be and why?”. Some questions are secretive, some are direct. Me? If I were a car part, I’d have to choose steering wheel. At first I thought nothing of it, but as the lecture continued I realised choosing the steering wheel could tell your interviewers that you like to lead. Whereas if I were to say the wheels, perhaps they would perceive me as more motivated. Personally I’ve never really thought into it, but now that I have it makes sense.

fhd993trr_christopher_walken_001
The “interview” scene from True Romance- written by Quentin Tarantino.
http://www.chemicalzeon.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/fhd993TRR_Christopher_Walken_001.jpg

These secret questions catch you off guard, put you on the spot, and requires you to give a genuine answer. Anyone can rehearse in front of the mirror of what you’ve learnt in your past, but if the interview asks you “Why is there fuzz on a tennis ball?”, it gives you the opportunity to show you’ve got passion, even for something as silly as the tennis ball question. Interviewers look for passion, the same I find when pitching film ideas to people- where it by professional or informal. For me as a writer, I pitch film and story ideas to my close friends and family all the time. Since they are my friends and family, I’m not afraid of embarrassing myself with a crap idea, so this allows me to get momentum when I’m pitching and not hold back. While pitches and interviews are different, your aim is still the same. You want your potential client, investor, employer, employee, by exuding your passion to try motivate them to hire, work, invest with you.

Some might find the secretive questions a tad intrusive, I feel as though they are perfectly warranted. In creative industries I believe, whether it be audio, film, gaming, or web design, you’re forced to have a certain level of vulnerability to be able to pitch your ideas, which gives the interviewer a peak into their interviewees personality. All this talk about interviews had me curious, how did some of the filmmakers I admire today get their start in the industry? Being a Quentin Tarantino fan, I’m aware of his humble beginnings working in a video store. Tarantino had written a short film, and wrote, directed and acted in his first feature film attempt- My Best Friend’s Birthday. Tarantino’s producer, Lawrence Bender was able to get in contact with Harvey Keitel’s agent, Harvey read the script, and the rest is history..

BIBLIOGRAPHY

http://img.hdwallpaperpc.com/cover/162/Cars_Volkswagen_Slammed_Classic_Car_Interior_Steering_Wheel_161454_detail_thumb.jpg : COVER IMAGE

Mental Floss (2016), No Author Name, Retrieved from Mental Floss
http://mentalfloss.com/article/70851/14-colorful-facts-about-reservoir-dogs

Indiewire (2012), 5 Things You Might Not Know About Reservoir Dogs by Oliver Lyttelton, Retrieved from Indiewire.
http://www.indiewire.com/2012/10/5-things-you-might-not-know-about-reservoir-dogs-250511/

Leave a Reply

